iorewswap.blogg.se

Life 09 work with macbook g4
Life 09 work with macbook g4





  1. #Life 09 work with macbook g4 mac
  2. #Life 09 work with macbook g4 windows

Overall I'm happy to have made the switch. The main reason for the switch was for the 7 hour battery life, but also because of build quality and the fact that OSX with its BSD underpinnings seemed similar enough to Linux to allow me to get work done, but user friendly/polished enough to avoid spending 20 minutes trouble shooting why something is broken.

#Life 09 work with macbook g4 mac

When it came time to replace it, I decided I would get a mac even though I had never owned an apple computer since the Apple IIe. Most of my work is done with C++ or Python and I too use vim for everything.īefore my MBP, I had a netbook with linux on it, which I rather liked because of its lengthy battery life. I'm a CS student and I bought a MBP last spring. At my university it was assumed everyone would want to learn in linux or OS X and that's how our classes were designed, but if your professors are going to do all of their demonstrations in visual studio you will be frustrated if you are trying to convert their instructions to some other environment. However, the most important question is how your classes will be taught.

#Life 09 work with macbook g4 windows

This is hard to do in windows because many linux-based command line tools aren't readily available without, say, cygwin, and cygwin can be complicated to work with. I find visual studio and other large GUI-driven IDEs awkward development environments and prefer to do without one - I use vim though some prefer emacs.

life 09 work with macbook g4

The enormous advantage OS X has over Linux is that many things that aren't programming, like connecting to network printers, can be like pulling teeth in Linux but are trivially straightforward in OS X. I think you'll find that many of the "best" developers share this opinion and use macs or linux machines - if you walk around the floor at Google or Facebook (or most well-known startups, or, for example, I'd bet Reddit), most people will be using some flavor of Linux or OS X. For programming, I find OS X to be far, far easier to use than Windows, with some flavors of Linux probably a hair easier still thanks to very good packaging systems like "apt" in Debian for chasing down dependencies.







Life 09 work with macbook g4